CINDERELLA TRIPPIN'

….let there be shopping….

WHEN I WAS 17…


- I used and abused the fact that I was a breech ( bridge? ) baby.  As often as possible. Along the lines of “If I wasn’t a breech baby , I could have been far more intelligent. But as my head was born last,  my brain lacked oxygen and that’s why I didn’t do so well in the Maths test. “

or

“If I wasn’t a breech baby I could have been far prettier. But because my head was squashed in there for too long I have a weird nose and that’s why boys aren’t asking me out on dates.”

Followed by the melodramatic slamming of doors, the refusal to get out of the car at shopping malls and a deafening silence that lasted for days.

My poor mother. She was pregnant with me in the sixties . Ultrasound scans were unheard of. How was the woman to know that her first child would come into this world backside first?

- I refused to wear anything but black for my entire 17th year.

- I refused to be photographed. ( yes. because of the imagined squashed nose.)

- I refused to visit family members. ( particularly my Aunt Doris who told me in person that she prayed to God to please bless me with lots of talent. Singing or playing the piano or being good at crochet.  Anything other than looks.  Because  I was so ugly straight after birth. Because I was a breech baby and my face got squashed. )

- I permed my hair. And teased it to defy gravity with the help of industrial strenght hair spray. It was the 80’s. I thought it a great diversion from the nose.

- I spent days in the bathroom. Working the hair. And the black eyeliner.

HAIR TO HIDE A NOSE BY…..no, this isn’t me. This is the hair I wanted when I was 17…

To end off : a quote from the movie PARENTHOOD (1989) :

Frank: [on parenting] It’s like your Aunt Edna’s ass. It goes on forever and it’s just as frightening.

Sorry, Ma……..

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “WHEN I WAS 17…

  1. Debbie on said:

    The 80s sure was classic…………also had a perm of BIG hair for a while.But growing up in Durbs long fringes were more in fashion and mine was looooooong.
    Funny post

  2. Luddite lass on said:

    I don’t think I knew what a bridge baby was by the time I was 17. (I’ve always known it as the breech position. And I think it shows attitude to “moon” the world before you’re even in it yet!) Ah, the folly of youth – when I was 17 I had half my hair (left side I think) permed and the other side straight and dyed red – oy!

  3. Funny! I am also an 80s product! I remember a big fringe that I used to cultivate to hide the pimples on my forehead, and I had a nose obession as well! I saw my grandfather’s nose every time I looked in the mirror…
    Neurotic times! ;-)

  4. My big goal when I was a freshman in HS was to have my entire closet be black by the time I became a sophomore!

Hey, don't leave yet......please comment !

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

