CINDERELLA TRIPPIN'

….let there be shopping….

CONVERSATIONS WITH PUFFY THE FISH


 A conversation is like a journey, with the speakers going from one place to another. Or a good tennis match. Where the ball goes from one player to the other. And back. In other words, there’s reciprocation happening. You say something and I reciprocate. And then I say something and you reciprocate. And then we both feel heard and understood and all tingly because somebody “gets” us.
Examples of good sentences to use for satisfying conversation:
  • Let’s go back to what you were saying earlier.
  • Can we return to the previous point?
  • I can’t quite see where you’re heading?
  • I’m listening – Go on!
  • We’ve covered a lot of ground.
  • I was just coming on to that.
  • You’re on the right/wrong track.
  • We’ve wandered off the topic.
  • We keep going round and round in circles. Lets get to a point and then have some tea.

Non-conversation goes something like this: ( and I regularly have it with some acquaintances)

“So how’ve you been?”

“Well, I….”

“You know what I did yesterday? yada yada yada yada yada yada ………….”

“I……”

“And you say the kids are well?”

“Yes, they…….”

“My son at varsity is coming to visit and yada yada yada yada yada yada………..”

“I once………….”

“And did I tell you about yada yada yada yada yada yada yada   X100………………”

“I……………..”

” You’re awfully quiet today, what’s going on?”

“Actually, I…….”

“You know, yesterday I said to yada yada yada yada yada yada yada yada…..”

 

THIS IS NOT CONVERSATION.

This is me swallowing so much air I need to leave the room and go and swear somewhere. LOUDLY.

 

 

(ps. Thanks for listening.

I feel all tingly now because somebody “gets me” . And I think we’ve reached a satisfying point, don’t you? )

Tea?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “CONVERSATIONS WITH PUFFY THE FISH

  1. I’d comment, but I thought it would take the fun out of you answering for me. I hope my silence makes up for people cutting you off.
    Fun posting. I feel your pain.

  2. Lol! How true and I love the puffy fish analogy! Sometimes the puffy fish is nervous, but a repeat offender – yikes!

  3. ludditelass on said:

    Thanks, I’d love a cup!
    Why conversations with Puffy the Fish? Do the ones who don’t know how to have a conversation make you want to explode or are the people who don’t know how to have conversations so full of themselves and have such inflated ideas of their own importance that they look like puffer fish? I’m thinking maybe the latter because like puffer fish those people are poisonous and need to be avoided.
    Lovely to see you back!
    BTW this tea is exactly the way I like it, thanks!

Hey, don't leave yet......please comment !

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

