CINDERELLA TRIPPIN'

….let there be shopping….

GREETINGS FROM A FULL BOX OF CHOCOLATES


 

I had my annual check up with the psychiatrist yesterday.

It’s been 2 years since I ended up having shock treatment for untreated PND ( Post-Natal Depression ) .

 

Of that horrific time in our lives I remember very little.

Lying in bed for days. Enjoying nothing. Wanting nothing but sleep,sleep and more sleep.

Incapable of brushing my teeth, reading or concentrating on anything for more than a few seconds. Unwilling to get dressed, unwilling to go shopping.Yes.ME.

Not wanting my son, not wanting my marriage, not wanting MY LIFE.

 

Two years on the right treatment and fast forward to yesterday:

I walked in there with my perfect baby  in my arms, now a year old. I looked into that man’s eyes and proudly said:

“Meet my daughter!”

 

Three proud words after “they” all said “How can she even THINK of having another child?”

Three proud words after the stress of a pregnancy while on anti-depressants. Wondering and worrying for 9 months whether this baby I was carrying would be ok.

And husband worrying about whether I would make it through in one piece.

 

I made it.

I’ve gone from zombie-with-no-memory to  a mentally strong  mom and wife with a sense of humor, a dream to write and the ability to deal with ( most ) of what this here life throws at me.

 

A full box of chocolates?

Debatable.

 

Elevator going all the way to the top?

Most days, yes.

 

Wanting my life?

HELL YEAH!!

 

( ps. If you know of anybody needing support with issues around depression and/or PND PLEASE show them this post . I’d be more than happy to provide information and a listening ear where needed. )

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “GREETINGS FROM A FULL BOX OF CHOCOLATES

  1. Debbie on said:

    Wow wee.good going on surving PND and being a sucess in the end.

  2. Also applaud your honesty and courage with being so very open with your struggles … And I have sent the link to a friend!

    Well done🙂

  3. I applaud your honesty and bravery but most of all your committment to your recovery. You are amazing!

  4. this post warms the cockles of my heart and re-affirms my belief that one day you may be looking at something and the next day your view may be completely different. makes life exciting. Just know that I’m happy for you. Well done to you for your perseverence..

Hey, don't leave yet......please comment !

