CINDERELLA TRIPPIN'

….let there be shopping….

An Evening In The Life Of Our Living Room Floor


Quotes are always impressive . Complicated quotes are even more impressive,  so lets start this with  one of them:

“I have always thought that one man of tolerable abilities may work great changes, and accomplish great affairs among mankind, if he first forms a good plan, and, cutting off all amusements or other employments that would divert his attention, make the execution of that same plan his sole study and business.”

– Benjamin Franklin

 

And now that you are suitably impressed and confused we’ll move straight onto the subject of our living room floor.

First up, the floor plan :

 

 

Our living room is where we spend our evenings as a family. BC it used to be a tranquil space with subtle yet cosy yet artsy ornaments and throws and candles and pot plants actually making a living ON THE FLOOR.

Husband sat in AREA 4 ( a chair )  and I sat in AREA 5 ( the couch ). With between us a little table where TV remotes and used toothpicks stayed where they were for weeks.  ( he likes using the same toothpick over and over to “save money”. He also breaks them in half to save even more money. Yes. I know. )

Since the birth of our children and them growing larger and larger daily I’ve had to come up with THE PLAN. ( refer back to quote above )

THE PLAN ( which has it’s roots in growing up with “Little House On The Prairie” and “The Waltons ” ) works like this :

1. Husband sits in AREA 4.

2. I sit in AREA 5.

3. Babygirl and her toys are in AREA 1. ( pink )

4. Son and his toys remain in AREA 2. ( blue )

5. AREA 3 is the fireplace and out of bounds for children.

6.AREA 6 is a no-go zone for kids. Imagine an invisible dividing line if you will. They will sense this because of where I’ve placed their respective toys.

7. The cushions and throws and blankets  in AREA 5 ( the couch) stay in place until the kids  fall asleep next to me/ on my lap.

8. No one under 5 touches the TV remotes and used toothpicks on the little table.

9. During the course of the evening the children come into AREA 4 and AREA 5 calmly and hug their parents occasionally before going back to playing contentedly in their respective areas.

10. We ( the parents) gaze lovingly upon our calm and loving and cute children every now and then before continuing watching our choice of TV programmes and reading our books.

11. When  they get sleepy the children move to the couch where they fall asleep gently and contentedly on my lap/ next to me on the couch.

 

This is how THE PLAN normally pans out:

 

 

More “Clash Of The Titans Ninja Warrior  Terminal Impact” than “Goodnight, JohnBoy! Goodnight, Mary Ellen…”

 
Kelly Corrigan

“If John Lennon was right that life is what happens when you’re making other plans, parenthood is what happens when everything is flipped over and spilling everywhere and you can’t find a towel or a sponge or your “inside” voice.”
― Kelly CorriganLift

 

Yip. That’s when it happens.

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “An Evening In The Life Of Our Living Room Floor

  1. I agree! Every time my grand kids visit, my house explodes!

  2. Clash Of The Titans Ninja Warrior Terminal Impact? That is too brilliant a description for words. My niece and nephew are only 15 months apart and that has described my sister’s life since they were born. Cute post and I like the diagram. It sets your blog post apart from other people’s…thanks for sharing!

  3. bipolarmoms on said:

    I recognise this picture – it might just as well have been taken in our house! Good luck with sticking to the various areas.🙂

  4. Hi !!! Just testing this comment because I can’t even get into my own blog anymore….no response from the “help” on WordPress. *sob* maybe someone is trying to tell me to stop blogging! xx

  5. Reminds me of our TV room when the kids were smaller.I had a BIG barrel thingy that I would scoop up all their stuff into and make it ‘disappear’

Hey, don't leave yet......please comment !

